Earlier this month, Betsy and I tried to live stream a pairing session and failed miserably. But! We had fun, so we spent about 30m performing a retrospective on our Debugging a Race Condition in Cypress event. To expose our ignorance (and therefore, learn more!) we’ve made our retro notesavailable to you.

The joy of retrospectives is we now have a plan to make the stream flow much more smoothly! The angst of retrospectives is that it can be touch to talk about failure-modes in a positive, proactive way. Thankfully though our years of working together, we’ve developed a level of physchological safety that allows us to have healthy, reflective conversations.

How We’ll Do Better Next Session

The next live-streaming sessions are going to be longer! Yes, Longer. The main reason for this is we realized that due to A) us having solved the problem before and B) us having logistical difficulties, we didn’t get much of an opportunity to enter a state of productive flow.

We know this may be… boringer for you, but we’re hoping it will allow us to dive deeper into insights in a more casual manner; so we can pull out the diamonds in the rough out and provide them in more easily accessible chunks.

We’re also planning to have someone who is not streaming monitoring the #RealWorldCode hashtag and mentions to Cohere’s Twitter account to make sure that if logistical issues arise we can resolve them in a timely and inclusive manner.

How You Can Attend our Next Livestream

To attend our next livestream, Preventing Cascade Failures Caused by Excessive Concurrent Writeson January 15th, from 10 AM PT / 1 PM ET to 12 PM PT / 3PM ET, you may join the stream directly. You may also RSVP via EventBrite by tomorrow, January 15th at 8 AM PT/ 11AM ET. This should work better than the horrible form I put on the website last time.

Once again, you should be able to bookmark this link which will give you a window into the stream when we go live.

We’re looking forward to seeing you there! If it doesn’t work or you have any questions, reply to this post or tweet at Cohere with the hashtag #RealWorldCode and we’ll do our best to get you in quickly <3.

Zee, Betsy and Jackson